What to read after Fifty Shades of Grey…

So you’ve finished the Fifty Shades of Grey trilogy and you’re thinking, now what? If you’re new to the erotic romance/erotica market, the choices can be overwhelming and you may not know how to whittle down the list of options.

I’m here to help. I’m nice that way. 😉  Many authors have offered suggestions, but my list is going to be a little different because I believe it’s NOT the bdsm element of Fifty Shades that sold millions of copies of the trilogy, but the relationship between Christian and Ana, the chemistry, the romance, and then maybe the sex (and perhaps a little bit of kink).

The novels I recommend have memorable characters, solid plot lines, chemistry up the yin yang and smokin’ hot sex scenes. And yes, I’m  including a few of my own erotic romances in the mix. My suggestions include contemporaries, paranormals, spanking romances, BDSM (just in case that IS what you want) and even some historicals.  A few of the books are part of a series, and I’ve noted those.

If any of these novels pique your interest and you have a Kindle, download the free sample. It’s a great way to try before you buy. The links I’ve provided all go to Amazon.com. If you’re into the UK, you can get them on Amazon uk. They’re also available on many other ebook sites.

Get ready to bookmark some links and download some samples:

Game Plan by Karla Doyle – A FUNNY debut novel about a single mom wary about giving her heart again.

 

Reckless in Moonlight by Cara Bristol – When her husband leaves her for a young chick, this divorcee finds love is sweeter and hotter with the young doctor next door

North of Need by Laura Kaye – A snowstorm brings love to a grieving widow on the anniversary of her husband’s death. You might shed a tear over this one. (Hearts of the Anemoi series)

See Me by Pauline Allan – an ex con and a woman pornographer hiding from her past find love. A touching debut novel.

Dead Sexy by Paige Tyler – A voodoo priestess puts the whammy on a womanizer after he jilts her granddaughter, turning him into a much nicer guy — and a zombie at the most inconvenient times. Don’t be turned off by the Z word. This book is GOOD.

A Scent of Longing by Cara Bristol – A Half Breed vampire finds his mate in a woman who was turned against her will and doesn’t trust vamps. Not your usual vampire story. It’s erotic and poignant. You might shed a tear over this one, too.

A Bed of Thorns and Roses by Sondra Allan Carr. This is a historical romance based on Beauty and the Beast. A woman, scarred on the inside, is hired as a secretary for a young man disfigured by fire. You WILL cry over this one (but the ending is happy).

A Scandalous Wife by Ava Stone. The author’s entire Scandalous Regency romance series is wonderful. In this one, a man marries a woman to save his family from scandal and then banishes her to his country home. When he “meets” her years later at a ball, he doesn’t recognize his own wife at first, but the romance begins.

To add a little extra spice, I recommend:

False Pretenses by Cara Bristol – To further her journalism career, a woman goes undercover to expose  Rod and Cane Society, an organization that encourages men to spank their wives. But she doesn’t know her new boyfriend is a member. (Rod and Cane Society series)

Chastity Belt by Shoshanna Evers – a woman performing at sex club is locked into a chastity belt. Sexual frustration has never been so hot!

Traditional Terms by Alta Hensley – Though she thinks it’s not for her, a young woman decides to give domestic discipline a try. (Traditional Love series)

 

Valentine Submission by Sue Lyndon – Recovering from a bad divorce, a woman finds love and kink with an old friend

Willing Victim by Cara McKenna – woman is drawn into a relationship with a man who needs sex to be rough, i.e. rape roleplaying. The most shocking thing about this book is the language. Despite the harsh sounding concept, it is surprisingly touching.

BDSM – You’ve taken off your training wheels and are ready to go hardcore:

Training the Receptionist by Juniper Bell —  a street-savvy young woman discovers that the “other related duties” imposed by her employers are just what she’s looking for. This book is a riot! It’s erotic and funny.

“Controlled Response” by Joey Hill – this is a novella in the anthology Unlaced. It is one of the hottest, sexiest BDSM stories I’ve read.

Mercy by Annabel Joseph A beautifully written story about a masochistic dancer and her need to be dominated. Well done, but not for the faint of heart.

My favorite book review site

If you do enjoy a hint of spice and  a little kink but find BDSM too extreme, I suggest you  try some domestic discipline erotic romances or spanking romances. I recommend Bottoms Up Book Reviews as the “go-to” site for information. It’s the ONLY site that reviews only spanking books. The reviewer does a comprehensive job, even showing comparison reviews that disagree with her own.

And, by the way, here’s my review of Fifty Shades of Grey.

 

Share
This entry was posted in Book Reviews, Domestic discipline stories, Kindle, Spanking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to What to read after Fifty Shades of Grey…

  1. Sue Lyndon says:

    Thanks for including Valentine Submission on this list, Cara! 🙂

    I’ve read about half these books, and now I have a few to add to my to-read pile.

  2. Laura Kaye says:

    Aw, thanks for recommending North of Need, Cara! You rock! And I’ve discovered some new titles for my own TBR list! 😀

    Also, I heartily concur on Game Plan, Reckless in Moonlight and Willing Victim – I adored all three!

    • Karla Doyle says:

      Yay! Thank you, Laura! And I heartily agree on Willing Victim and Reckless in Moonlight.
      I haven’t read North of Need yet (it’s on my TBR list), but I loved Hearts In Darkness and have recommended it to many people. 🙂
      I love books where the characters stay with you long after you’ve finished reading, and all these books did that for me.

  3. Karla Doyle says:

    Hi, Cara!
    Thank you so much for the shout-out for Game Plan!

    I’m thrilled to be part of your list. I’ve read several of these books and they’re awesome. 🙂

  4. Sondra Carr says:

    Thanks, Cara, for including A Bed of Thorns and Roses as one of your recommended reads. I agree with you, no matter the heat level, for me a story has to have emotion. All the books on your list sound like fantastic reads. More downloads for my Kindle!

  5. Elmo says:

    Just randomly found this site and I love that you have so many suggestions! Thanks you are now on my favorites list….

    I haven’t read any of these books but with all the comments about them, I just downloaded Game Plan, Reckless in the Moonlight and North of Need. My only problem will be which one to read first!!!!

    Thanks again for the suggestions!! Cant wait to see what else you suggest!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.